My Ten Choices

  1. Comic Book Heroes
  2. The violence in video games
  3. Women on the cover of magazines
  4. The evolution of television programs
  5. The rise of the fashion industry
  6. The evolution of cartoon characters
  7. The role of the action star
  8. Disney heroines
  9. Manga verses comic books
  10. The definition of beauty throughout history
  1. Comic Book Heroes

I have been a fan of comic books my entire life and am a self-confessed comic book nerd. Even though I am almost 21 my interest in the fantasy of people with superpowers and extremely tight clothing hasn’t faded away in the slightest. I enjoy that there is a type of comic book and superhero for each person. There are comic books that are: children’s, crime, horror, slice of life and superhero to name a few (Iconology,2015: Online) . Each one of these genres of comic literature has its own group of heroes and characters that were designed specially to fit into these fantasy worlds. For example a character from a children’s comic such as Archie (See figure 1) would be drawn rounder and simpler. “The human-being has a very interesting feature: We can synthesize the details that make up a structure or an object in very complex ways into very basic and simple ones. This way we can represent any type of thing through a few curves and geometric shapes” (Cabral, 2013:Online) .as opposed to a character from a horror comic who would be drawn with more shadow and detail and made to look more intimidating (See figure 2). I think an investigation into which genre of comic books sells best or perhaps what characteristics a character should have to fit into a specific genre could be very interesting.

  1. Violence in Video Games

I am a lifelong gamer and have played on many gaming consoles and played my games in my life. I grew up playing games like pac-man, super Mario bros., crash bandicoot, Pokémon, Tekken and various others (see figure 3). But I have noticed that there is a big difference between the games I played growing up and the games that are available now, more specially the violence that is shown in games in today’s day and age in quite intense. Games for the same age group contain a lot more violence and gore than they used to. Games in general have become more ‘gorey’ and display a lot of violent acts (see figure 4). I think that this could be an interesting thing to investigate, just why the video game industry has moved more towards this love of violence. Could it possibly be because of the blood lust of children these days? Possibly the negligence of parents? Perhaps it is due to the media showing acts of violence on the television so much? It may be a combination of all of these factors. Either way I think that Violence in video games could be an interesting topic to investigate.

  1. Women on the cover of Magazines

Magazines are everywhere and there are certain factors that influence a potential buyer in taking note of a magazine such as the headline ore the colours used. But I think more specifically in woman’s magazines it’s the woman on the cover. “The cover sells the magazine,” “The cover brings people into the big tent.”(Hackett, 2009: Online). This person is often a celebrity or famous person. I think that over the years the cover models role has changed from just being there to someone that the average woman would strive to be like. I think It could be interesting to investigate which woman’s magazines sell best, and if the cover model had anything to do with it. Another factor to take into consideration is the fact that in recent years the use of touch ups and Photoshop has become more prevalent. It could be interesting to see the difference between the cover models of the seventies verses those of perhaps our modern age. (See figures 5 and 6)

  1. The evolution of television programs

Television has been a major part of my life as I’m sure it has for most people since its invention in the early twentieth century (FirstTelevisionInvented.com. 2009: Online). I grew up I watched shows like power rangers, the fresh prince of Bellaire and Ricky Lake. But much has changed since then, more specifically the way in which the programmes have changed. One such change is the popularity of reality shows, such as the real house wives of L.A, Big brother and keeping up with the Kardashians. Younger audiences are turning more towards watching these types of shows. For this reason there are many things that can be investigated in such a topic. Like why has the world been so attracted to these shows? Which is the most popular? How did television evolve from its humble beginnings to what something that I would say is a bit fake and un-stimulating for the mind?

  1. The fashion industry

The fashion industry is constantly changing and adapting to what’s in and moving away from what’s out, so what is fashionable today might not be so in a months’ time. Everyone on some level is inspired by fashion, that inspiration helps us to choose what to wear and what not to wear. It all comes from a basic need put clothes on our body and in the beginning that’s all fashion was, coverings for the body, but over the years it has evolved to the point that many fashion runway shows showcase clothes that can never be worn but are still appreciated and admired (See figure 7). I think that it would be interesting to investigate how fashion got to this point. What each decade contributed to the fashion of today, if perhaps art inspired fashion.

  1. The evolution of cartoon characters

This topic interests me because I am a huge fan of cartoon shows and movies such as Goof troop, The Simpsons, Tom and Jerry, Woody Woodpecker, and various Mickey Mouse cartoons. I grew up watching and laughing at these characters and over time I noticed that they had changed. Sometimes the changes were physical, or in the character itself. I think it could be interesting to investigate why this change in cartoon characters happens. Could the media play a role in the way the characters develop or could the target market of the show dictate the way the characters change. A perfect example of one such character is Mickey Mouse, in many of his original black and white cartoons was at times scary looking and was sometimes used as a way to fuel war and racial propaganda and hate(see figure 8), is now a fun silly mouse who helps children learn to count and spell(see figure 9). Why have these characters changed so drastically over the years? Is it to appeal to a younger audience? These are some of the questions one could ask if this was the topic.

  1. The role of the action Star

I picked this topic because I am a big fan of action movies; I’ve been watching action movies all my life and still enjoy them today, although they have changed very much since I began watching them in the nineties. I grew up watching guys like Sylvester Stallone, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Jean Claude van Dam, Steven Seagull and many more (see figure 10), but the role of the ‘Macho’ action star has changed very much. Now a days the action heroes aren’t so one dimensional and they aren’t always men, like in the case of Jennifer Lawrence in The Hunger Games series(see figure 11). I think this could be an interesting topic to research, as many question are formulated when comparing the two generations of action stars, such as why the change to women? And would a 90’s style action movie fit in with today’s market of movie watcher?

  1. Disney Heroines

I picked the topic of Disney heroines because I Disney movies have had a big impact on my life from the life lessons that you get out of them to the laughs that continue to be funny today. Many of my favourite animated movies are Disney movies and I am constantly impressed with the ability of the animator and story writers that work there. I have noticed that over the years Disney movies have changed quite drastically, particularly with regards to their heroines. In earlier Disney movies the female lead would be helpless and depend on a prince to come and save her, or rescue her from danger (see figure 12) but in modern telling’s of Disney movies it’s the female lead that is taking change and saving herself (see figure 13). I feel as though this could be a good topic, comparing the way Disney princesses were portrayed in early Disney movies verses how they are now, and why the difference. I feel as though this is a topic that would really like to investigate and gather information on.

  1. Manga verses Comic books

An age old debate of which written story telling method is best, Comic books which originated in North America (Bellis, 2015: Online) or Manga which originated in Japan(Zagzoug, 2001: Online) is better. Each has its own specific style and way of doing things so in many ways they are not alike but in many ways they are. To me, who enjoys both there can be no winner; each has its own market that it caters towards and is doing very well at this. It is an interesting topic to me because manga and Comic books have such a wide variety of work available but underneath it all they are the same thing. It could be interesting to point out the difference in drawing style and literature used, and exactly who these books are targeted for. (see figures 14 and 15)

  1. The definition of beauty though out history

This topic interests me because this is something that affects everyone, “beauty”. In our society it can be said that we are very much driven by what we see, I notice every day how people dress up like famous people and people who we deem to be the epitome of what a beautiful person should be. I feel as though this would be a great topic to research, taking into consideration what was going on in history at the time, what the people of that time considered to be beautiful. More specifically what a beautiful woman would look like from that time period and how that image has changed over the years. It is safe to say that our current definition of a beautiful woman (see figure 16) is very different to what it was 60 years ago (see figure 17), why is that? What was life like 60 years ago? Questions like that could help to give a time line of the many types of beauty that people once held in high esteem.

Out of the ten potential topics that I have mentioned, I feel drawn more towards topic number 8, Disney Heroines. I am a really big fan of Disney movies and am really enjoying the new direction it is going with its stories i.e having the princess not seen as a helpless defenceless object the needs to be saves by someone. I feel like there are many questions that can be asked with regards to the change in the way Disney princesses are viewed, like why the change in recent years? What was the role of women in real life at the time of release of these movies? Is the change a positive one?

I feel as though if this is the topic is chose I will not lose interest in my collection of information or images as this topic is very interesting to me.

I didn’t choose topic number 1 ‘comic book heroes’ because I feel the topic is too broad and that I would find myself getting confused and eventually lost in the research.

Topic 2 ‘Violence in video games is a topic that I would find very interesting to research but from the brief searches I have done, I have seen that there isn’t much published on the topic so finding credible information could be a problem.

Topic 3 is ‘women on the covers of magazines, I didn’t choose this topic because simply I think I would lose interest in getting information on the topic as I am not a regular buyer and reader of women’s magazines.

Topic 4 ‘the evolution of television programmes again like topic two has very little credible sources of information that I can use therefore I would struggle in my research.

Topic 5 is the rise of the fashion industry, I liked this topic and enjoy sourcing pictures of the silly designer clothing shows that are on the internet but at the end of the day, I didn’t really find the topic itself all too intriguing so I decided to not choose it as my final topic.

Topic 6 ‘The Evolution of cartoon characters’ now this topic interested me very much but in the end I didn’t select it because I I thought that I would have too many questions to answer and would struggle to focus the topic down to one branch to work from.

Topic 7 ‘The role of the action star’ is another topic that would be fun to research and learn about but, I feel that I would battle to get credible sources to quote from and use in my assignment.

Topic 9 ‘manga verses comic books’ at the time seemed like a very good idea, but again I felt that the idea it was extremely broad and could be interpreted in too many ways.

Topic 10 ‘the definition of beauty throughout history’ is a topic that could have worked as there is a lot of information available about what each decade and what different societies varied as beautiful, but again it isn’t something that interested me enough so I chose not to use it.
5_%20Cover%20-%20adventure-time

Figure 1
Lamb,B. [Online image]. Available at: http://www.pastemagazine.com/articles/2013/08/15-great-new-upcoming-comic-books-for-kids.html

the_theater1_cover_b_kirkham

Figure 2

Kirkham, B. 2011 The Theatre [online image] Available at: http://www.comicmonsters.com/features-1185-The_Theater_interview_with_Raven_Gregory.html

video_game_characters_from_the_80__s_and_90__s_by_aerialrocketgames-d5r6hsd

Figure 3
AerialRocketGames. 2014 Video Game Characters from the 80’s and 90’s. [Online image]. Available at: AerialRocketGames.deviantart.com/

mk-gore-01-500x278

Figure 4

Mortal Kombat. 2012 [online image]. Available at: http://www.capsulecomputers.com.au/2012/03/australian-classification-board-cant-possibly-play-the-games-they-classify/mk-gore-01/

life-and-style

Figure 5

Life & Style. 2009 [Online image]. Available at: http://www.coachcalorie.com/womens-magazine-covers-need-to-die/

ba0415d1450b28bfffe76ecfdd685bf6

Figure 6

Vogue. 1982 [Online image]. Available at: http://www.polyvore.com/vintage_vogue_magazine_covers_1960s/thing?id=100067926

wtf-fashion-12-9-384x560

Figure 7

Ensemble Magazine. 2012 [Online image]. Available at: http://www.nsmbl.com/its-called-fashion-look-it-up/

trader-mickey-c2a9-walt-disney

Figure 8

Hand, D. 1932 Mickey Trader [Online Image]. Available at: http://drgrobsanimationreview.com/tag/song-and-dance-routine/

mickey-mouse-297x300

Figure 9

Unknown, 2012 [Online image]. Available at: http://cartoon-characters.com/mickey-mouse/

terminator

Figure 10

Cameron, J. 1994 The Terminator [Online image]. Available at: http://reviewfix.com/2012/03/our-10-best-action-film-stars/

the-hunger-games-catching-fire-poster-final

Figure 11

Lawrence, F. 2013 The Hunger Games: Catching Fire [Online image]. Available at: http://collider.com/hunger-games-2-catching-fire-poster/

Snow%20White

Figure 12

Walt Disney, 1937 Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs [Online Image]. Available at: http://wolcartoon.com/snow-white-characters-walt-disney-background-for-ipad.html

brave

Figure 13

Walt Disney, 2012 Brave [Online Image]. Available at: http://nerdbastards.com/2013/04/30/brave-heroine-merida-officially-crowned-as-the-11th-disney-princess/

hypernature_manga_page_sample_by_gbwhisper-d45yisj

Figure 14

GBWhisper, 2011 Hypermature manga page sample [Online Image]. Available at: http://gbwhisper.deviantart.com/art/Hypernature-manga-page-sample-251873443

angel-aftermath-comic-book-issue-29-pages-preview-gq-01_jpg

Figure 15

Unknown, 2009 Angel: Aftermath [Online Image]. Available at: http://www.whedon.info/Angel-Aftermath-Comic-Book-Issue,34507.html

Nicki-Minaj-2015

Figure 16

Unknown, 2014 [Online Image]. Available at: http://urbanislandz.com/2014/04/23/nicki-minaj-look-at-the-other-woman-premiere-photo/

monroe

Figure 17

Unknown, 1955 [Online Image]. Available at: http://indulgy.com/post/TfT7xXF4R1/nothing-makes-a-woman-more-beautiful-than-th

Bibliography:

Bellis The History of Comic Books Available at: http://inventors.about.com/od/cstartinventions/a/comics.htm [2015 Feb, 26]

C, Cabral Cartoon Fundamentals: How to Draw a Cartoon Face Correctly Available at: http://design.tutsplus.com/articles/cartoon-fundamentals-how-to-draw-a-cartoon-face-correctly–vector-15792

FirstTelevisionInvented.com Television Invention Available at: http://www.firsttelevisioninvented.com/ [2015 Feb, 26] [2015 Feb. 26]

Iconology Comic Genres Available at: https://www.comixology.com/browse-genre [2015 Feb. 26]

M, Hackett People Magazine Still Has a Bikini Body Available at: http://www.nytimes.com/2009/05/24/fashion/24generationb.html?_r=1& [2015 Feb, 26]

M, Zagnoug The History of Anime & Manga Available at: http://novaonline.nvcc.edu/eli/evans/his135/events/anime62/anime62.html [2015 Feb, 26]

 

Leave a comment